News Monitor LOGO

Brazil: Indigenous women journalists are among first winners of Mulher Imprensa Trophy

The 15 winners of the 17th Mulher IMPRENSA Trophy, an initiative coordinated by news outlet IMPRENSA, include for the first time two Indigenous women. The awards will be presented at a ceremony to be held on Sept. 28 in São Paulo, Brazil. Luciene Kaxinawá, the first Indigenous journalist on Brazilian television, won in the "Regionality: […]

KC logo

Call for submissions for the Roche Health Journalism Award 2023

"Submissions are now open for the Roche Health Journalism Award 2023, the contest that highlights the best stories and coverage focused on health and science issues in Latin America. Competition categories: -Written Journalism: Will reward the best journalistic text published in a print or digital news outlet in Latin America. -Audiovisual Journalism: Will recognize the […]

KC Logo

Chile: Applications are open for the Pfizer Andean Cluster Award of health journalism dissemination

"Pfizer announced the call for entries for the second edition of the Pfizer Andean Cluster Award, which seeks to recognize professionals and students for their contribution to journalistic dissemination of innovation, development in science and technology in health. [...] The Pfizer Andean Cluster Award - Chile 2023 Edition will have two categories: The First Category, […]

KC Logo

'There is no possible way to leave us voiceless,' Cuban journalist Abraham Jiménez Enoa said upon receiving the 2022 CPJ’s International Press Freedom Award

"Independent reporter Abraham Jiménez Enoa received on Thu. Nov. 17 the International Press Freedom Award granted by the Committee to Protect Journalists (CPJ). The Cuban journalist, the only Latin American nominated this year, dedicated the award to his colleagues Lázaro Yuri Valle Roca and Jorge Bello Domínguez, currently imprisoned on the island, during his thank […]

KC Logo

Argentina: 'Memoji' that tells the news wins Innovation Award from Google and FOPEA

"'El emoji de la tapa' [the front page emoji], a project of the social media team of the newspaper La Capital [of Rosario, Argentina], won the Digital Journalistic Innovation Award 2022. The award recognizes journalistic projects that seek to connect with new audiences and news consumption trends in order to democratize access to information. Google […]

KC Logo

King of Spain Awards highlight the role of journalism as a public good; journalists from four Latin American countries receive awards

"The 2022 King of Spain International Journalism Awards on Thursday highlighted the role of journalism as a public asset – as represented by the six winners coming from Spain, Mexico, Colombia, Brazil and Venezuela – and acknowledged the efforts by the journalists and their media outlets to create analytical and thorough reporting within a context […]

KC logo

Award created to recognize non-fiction works by Latin American women authors

"Aware of the importance of good journalism for society and especially for the strength of democracy, the Diego Portales University (UDP, by its Spanish acronym), in Chile, has created the Premio Cátedra Mujeres y Medios award. This award hopes to make visible the extensive journalistic work of generations of women and thus build a platform […]

KC logo

IPYS announces the 2022 edition of the Latin American Award for Investigative Journalism

"The Press and Society Institute (IPYS, by its Spanish acronym) announces the 2022 edition of the Latin American Prize for Investigative Journalism, the most important award in the specialty in the region. The organization will receive applications until June 30, the day after which a jury made up of journalists with extensive experience will evaluate […]

KC logo

Brazil: Jovem Jornalista Award opens registration for 2022 edition

"Registration is now open for the 14th edition of the Fernando Pacheco Jordão Jovem Journalist Award, promoted by the Vladimir Herzog Institute in partnership with the Brazilian Association of Investigative Journalism (Abraji, for its acronym in Portuguese) and four other organizations. Brazilian students must present proposals for coverage on the theme "The cries the world […]

KC logo

The Gabo Award opens its tenth edition and adds new categories

“The Gabo Foundation, an institution created in 1995 by Colombian journalist and Nobel Prize winner Gabriel García Márquez, officially opened the 2022 Gabo Award cycle. The competing works must have been published for the first time between July 1, 2021 and June 7, 2022 and be entered to the award platform before the deadline: Wed., […]