Brazil: Indigenous women journalists are among first winners of Mulher Imprensa Trophy

The 15 winners of the 17th Mulher IMPRENSA Trophy, an initiative coordinated by news outlet IMPRENSA, include for the first time two Indigenous women. The awards will be presented at a ceremony to be held on Sept. 28 in São Paulo, Brazil.

Luciene Kaxinawá, the first Indigenous journalist on Brazilian television, won in the "Regionality: North" category. Kaxinawá was born in the Brazilian state of Rondônia and is an Indigenous member of the Huni Kuin people, also known as Kaxinawá, who are located in territories between the Brazilian and Peruvian borders. She has been working as a journalist since 2014 in the northern region, graduated in 2019 and is currently an editor and presenter at Canal Futura.

Elizângela Baré, presenter of Rádio Sumaúma, will receive the trophy in the "Journalism Podcast Program" category. Baré is the first Indigenous woman to earn a master's degree in Public Health at the University of São Paulo, with a scholarship from the São Paulo State Research Support Foundation (FAPESP, by its Portuguese acronym). She is a leader of the Cué-Cué/Marabitanas Indigenous Land, in the Upper Rio Negro, in the state of Amazonas. The podcast, which began in September 2022, is a partnership between Rede Wayuri and Sumaúma Jornalismo do Centro do Mundo, and is produced biweekly by Vem de Áudio.

Below is the list of the winners of the 17th edition of the Mulher IMPRENSA Trophy:

  • Joyce Ribeiro (TV Cultura)
  • Sheila Magalhães (Radio BandNews)
  • Nayara Felizardo (The Intercept Brasil)
  • Cecília Olliveira (Fogo Cruzado)
  • Flávia Oliveira (Globo News)
  • Juliana Oliveira (Oliver Press)
  • Helena Bertho (Nubank)
  • Lais Vita (Gobierno de São Paulo)
  • Por ellos, por nosotros (Equipo Azmina)
  • Rádio Sumaúma (Elizângela Baré)
  • Flávia Quirino (Brasil de Fato)
  • Raíssa França (Eufemea)
  • Luciene Kaxinawá (Canal Futura)
  • Etiene Pereira Martins (Estado de Minas)
  • Rosiane Correia de Freitas (Plural)

Read original story (in Portuguese)