Honduras and Peru top list of most death threats against journalists

The International Press Institute (IPI) announced that 12 Latin American journalists received death threats in the last month. The grim practice has become disturbingly common in countries like Honduras and Peru, where the highest number of cases originated.

Out of the 85 total journalists killed in the world over the last 10 months, 35 were in Latin America. The report named Latin America the world's most dangerous region for journalists, isolating Mexico as the single most dangerous country, according to the number of deaths in 2011.

IPI is "concerned that the list could grow because of the number of journalists affected by death threats and because organized crime remains endemic in the region."

An international network of editors and media owners based in Vienna, Austria, IPI also stated that the principle enemies of the press are governments and organized crime.

This year, the Knight Center blog Journalism in the Americas reported several cases of death threats. Among them, the Colombian journalist Mary Luz Avendaño and Silvia González from Nicaragua who were forced to abandon their respective countries.

For more on this story, see this extensive list of threatened journalists:

ParaguayCarlos Bottino and other journalists threatened by the Paraguayan military.

HondurasEdgardo Antonio EscotoCarlos Alberto Medina PolancoAmando López, Mario Rolando SuazoPedro CanalesEthel Corea, and Lisandro Mauricio Arias Avilés.

El Salvador: journalists from Radio Victoria.

PeruKety VelaSegundo Alvines, Braulio Rojas, Javier Poma Sotelo, Humberto Espinoza MaguiñaJaime QuispeLenin Quevedo, Roberto Cacho Uriarte and Cristian Rojas.

ArgentinaMario SánchezGloria Seco and Claudio Ruiz.

BoliviaMónica Oblitas.

NicaraguaSiliva GonzálezLuis Galeano and his colleagues at El Nuevo Diario,

ColombiaClaudia Julieta Duque, Eduardo Márquez, Daniel Coronell, Marcos Perales Mendoza, Hollman MorrisRodolfo Zambrano and Mary Luz Avendaño

UruguayVictor Carrato

BrazilNiviane Rodrigues, Ricardo Motta, Thiago Correia, and Antuérpio Pettersen Filho.